The Who/How of Love

Firstly, I would like to announce that my regularity of posting is going to have to change due to the unprecedentedly ridiculous nature of my level of busyness this semester. I read all of 1 Thessalonians last night during a much-needed break and realized that I was drinking it in so thirstily because I have been running on too little of the Word! If it comes down to posting twice a month and having time to read the Bible, I’m going to have to choose the Bible. This said, I’m definitely going to aim to still post at least once a month. Follow my blog (by clicking “Follow” towards the top left of the screen) to be sure to catch updates when new posts come out! I would also like to take this time to announce my admiration of “mommy bloggers.” I’m just taking care of myself and I can’t find time to blog while keeping other priorities in order; you all are taking care of yourself plus at least one other person and run amazing blogs!

Now onto today’s order of business: LOVE. I love the month of February for a variety of reasons, but especially because Valentine’s day is coming up. I have been running around singing “V is very, very, extraordinary!!” because it’s combining a favorite love-focused song and my daily search for the extraordinary in my life, but I truly believe that Valentine’s day is much more than gloopy songs or, on the other side, Singles Awareness. I so enjoy a holiday that encourages us to reflect on who we love, why and how we love them, and by whom and how we are loved.

Over the course of this month, I’m going to fill out the following on my Sabbath days as something of a meditation on how love works in my life. You’re welcome to join me! If you really want to get into it, you’ll operationally define love beforehand; what does it mean? My current approach is to just answer with whatever first comes to mind, and I’m interested to see whether this reveals what the definition of love that I live by is.

Who I Love

Why I Love Them

How I Love Them

Who Loves Me

How They Love Me

Just in looking at each area, I can already tell that I am going to be challenged by the “How I Love Them” section; do I live out the love that I claim for others? For Christ?

I’m going to go ahead and answer the beginning of the “Who Loves Me” section. First and foremost, I know that God does. Isaiah 54:10 says:

“’Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet My unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor My covenant of peace be removed,’ says the LORD, who has compassion on you.”

I’m overwhelmed by this passage and I’m sure I’m not even fully absorbing it. God (and what is man that He is mindful of him?) has an unfailing love for me, and it’s accompanied by peace and compassion. All the more, He has sent amazing people who love me in the beautiful imitations of His love. My immediate family (about some of whom I have already carried on) loves me so clearly it brings me to tears sometimes, my uncles and aunts (one of whom sent me one of the sweetest and most thoughtful Valentine’s gifts I have ever received), grandparents, and other extended family are amazing. Then there is, of course, the matter of my family in Christ- the sisters and brothers that I’m going to get to share Heaven with one day and who are so encouraging and enjoyable even right now! And even beyond that, I have some truly wonderful friends who love me so well that it challenges me to love and be better through the model Christ has set for me.

Ah, I so enjoy this month. Happy February, everyone! Know that you are loved.

One thought on “The Who/How of Love

Leave a Reply

