Called to Blessings

Well, it’s almost Thanksgiving!  Unfortunately, due to this new schedule that I so excitedly advertised a couple of days ago- wait, a couple of MONTHS?!  Um, anyway- Parakaleo is no longer on Thursdays, and it’s no longer weekly, so I won’t be able to do a post on Thanksgiving.  However, I’ve noticed that a number of people have taken the opportunity to spend the month listing things for which they are thankful, which I think is fantastic!   One of my friends is researching gratitude and its effects and did a very interesting presentation that revealed many positive effects of being thankful.  (I’d like to note that this is a prime example of science and faith overlapping.  Many people think they’re mutually exclusive, and I’ve found the opposite!  Science makes my faith even stronger and challenges me to think about different things.)

Thankfulness is such a huge part of who we are as Christians.  In Colossians 2:2-7, we read, “My goal is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge. I tell you this so that no one may deceive you by fine-sounding arguments. For though I am absent from you in body, I am present with you in spirit and delight to see how disciplined you are and how firm your faith in Christ is.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

We are called to give thanks to God, which brings me to a rather exciting point.  Just as the way we are called to love is something that we should express throughout our lives, thankfulness is as well.  This suggests to me that we will always have something to be thankful for, just as there will always be someone to love in Jesus’ name.  It is a tremendous blessing to be called to thankfulness as part of our lives in Christ.

So I’ll hop on the Thanksgiving list bandwagon, too!  I’ve mentioned my gratitude list in the past on Parakaleo and today, I’d like to share some more of it with you.  Don’t worry; there are currently 224 things on the list- plenty to go around.  I might even have one to add- I’m thankful that the things that stress me out in grad school are things that I either love and find fascinating or know that I’m going to be able to use.  Oh, make it two- I’m thankful that I can be stressed, but not depressed.

This is exactly how this list got to be so long.

15.) clean water

22.) contentment

55.) AP Bio  (What?!  I know.)

70.) those really, really, REALLY tiny seashells that are so small that you can barely see them on your pinky finger.

78.) dance

79.) memories

100.) being able to count this high.

134.) taking criticism constructively

151.) chai tea

158.) sentences that you can’t finish because you’re laughing so hard

177.) chapstick

195.) that someday I’ll see home, and spend all of eternity with my Father and Savior who loves me more than I can even dream of loving, in His peaceful, beautiful, perfect heaven

209.) pressing on to take hold of that for which Christ took hold of me.

210.) that God can do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine.

Fun fact: By the end of this post, the list was at 234, due to the fact that I kept thinking of more things to add as I scrolled through my list.  Dear readers, what’s making your gratitude list today?

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, everyone!

p.s. I was looking back over my blog for other posts on thankfulness to link to, and found quite a few!  I’ve included some of them in this post, but if you would like to see more, search “thankful” in the search bar right underneath the Parakaleo banner at the top of the screen.

2 thoughts on “Called to Blessings

  1. Well I don’t know about anyone else…but I’m thankful for…wait for it…ONE DIRECTION!!!! And of course the fact that I have a loving God and Savior. I’m thankful for having a sister that doubles as my bestest friend, cold fall days, cool summer nights, fires, snow, and the fact that we live in a free world.

  2. Thank YOU for sharing this! What a joy to read! I am so thankful for the RICH Word of God which contains so much beauty, inspiration, and life-giving material. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

