The New Year, or Just Another Night?

Today’s post title comes from a rather sad but thoughtful song by the band Switchfoot (it brings to mind a lot of passages from Ecclesiastes and Psalms).  These lyrics tie in well with my normal perspective on resolution-making.  I try not to wait until the new year to make changes, but realized that it’s prideful of me to purposefully avoid resolving to do anything just because everyone else is doing it.  I definitely get more contemplative and self-reflective around this time, so I thought I’d go ahead and make some resolutions, too.  Here’s a few:

1.) Be more serious about my devotional time.  I feel like this is the Christian version of “exercise more.”  We all say it and it’s just a matter of actually doing it and continuing to do it.

2.) Write my Compassion child more often.  To learn more about Compassion International and how you can sponsor a child, click here.  I’m so blessed to partake in Compassion sponsorship and adore my little girl.

3.) Be more aware of my surroundings.  I got a lot better at this when I moved to a city with regular crime alerts (they’re less frequent now), but this time I mean to be more aware of the people around me and how I can serve them.

All of my resolutions are made with my true purpose in mind.  I’m here to love God and serve Him.  One Bible passage that especially motivates me comes from Ephesians 5: “Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”  I also frequently turn to Romans 12.

I encourage you to share your resolutions as well and to continue to share them with others as new ones comes to mind over the year.  There’s a reason that we’re all parts of the body of Christ- to hold one another accountable and encourage each other as we go down a difficult road.  May God bless your new year!

Leave a Reply

