The Lord Has Brought Me Safe Thus Far

Somehow this year absolutely flew by and now I’m sitting looking at it in retrospect.

For as much as I enjoy reflecting and considering what I’ve learned from the past, I’m learning more and more to look forward to the future.  2011 is going to hold some big changes for me and those close to me.  As I said last year around this time, I don’t know exactly what’s coming throughout the year, but I know that God is in control of whatever it is.

That brings me to my New Year’s Resolution.  I typically don’t make resolutions, but rather try to resolve to do something whenever I first realize that it needs doing.  I don’t think we need to wait for a new start.  But this “new start” of a year is timed quite perfectly for my 2011 Resolution: “TO NOT FEAR, but rather TO TRUST GOD.”

I’m also planning on exercising more and working hard at school, but “the resolution” eclipses my other plans.  Trusting God over embracing fear has been a big theme in my life lately, and I suppose that it is indeed something that I have resolved to do.  I’ve decided and I’m willing and ready to work for it.  I’m in this to win this! (As always, this inspiration here comes from Philippians 3.)

What do you need to do in your spiritual life?  I’m planning on praying more about areas on my life on which God wants me to set my mind and heart to work.  And like I said, we don’t only have to do this once a year!

I love the hymn “Amazing Grace,” particularly the last verse, but the two verses below have been very poignant and moving to me lately:

Through many dangers, toils and snares
I have already come;
‘Tis grace that brought me safe thus far
and grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me.
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

According to a couple of books about early evangelism and the song itself, “Amazing Grace” was first used in a congregational meeting on January 1, 1773.  (I just learned this today!)  I like to kick of my new year with a song (surprising, right?) and I think this year, this will be my song.

Welcome, 2011!  I can’t wait to see what God has in store.

Leave a Reply

