Happy Thanksgiving!

I’ll keep today’s post short so that you don’t have to spend too much time away from all of the delicious food and, more importantly, away from family and friends.  =)

So often on Thanksgiving, we sit down and thank God for the really “big” things that stand out to us.  But we should also praise Him for the “small” things He does in our life that are just as big.

I was encouraged several months ago to make a “Gratitude List,” and to write down EVERYTHING that I was thankful for.  Everything.

I thought it would be hard at first, but once I got rolling, the list quickly neared 100 items… then 150…. then 200, and I still consider it unfinished.  The more I learn, the more I have to be thankful for.

I hope you take a bit of time today to start your own gratitude list.  You can’t always rattle 100+ things off at the dinner table (I usually get cut off every year because my turn is running a little long), but God has more than enough time to listen to you give Him praise for all of the things that He has done.

Here’s a little sneak peek at my gratitude list:

1.) my relationship with my amazing, beautiful, incredible, holy, eternal God

2.) flowers

3.) beauty

4.) piano

5.) clean water

5.) the ability to wake up in the morning and not have to worry about IF I’ll be eating

6.) support

7.) contentment

8.) learning from my pain and my mistakes

9.) those really, really, REALLY tiny seashells that are so small that you can barely see them on your pinky finger.

10.) the way little kids are fascinated with the most random things

When I think about why I’m grateful for each of those things on my list, it pretty much boils down to the fact that my God is amazing.  He is loving and He is in control.  He is creative and He is just.  He is all-knowing and He is all-present.  He is God, and I have so much to thank Him for.

Leave a Reply

